<   Back to News

Students receive honorable mention at STN convention

Armand Larive Middle School received honorable mention in the Anchor Team competition at the Student Television Network (STN) Convention in Anaheim, California on March 31. Receiving the recognition were anchors Daytona Tracy and JaLay Burns, videographer Tanner Bales, and writer Abby Sharon.

In the Anchor Team contest, the students were given two hours to prepare a 60-second news introduction based on newswire copy provided as a prompt. The group used the first hour to prepare the script and the second hour to videotape the introduction. With only five minutes to spare, the students completed their task.

The 14th annual convention was attended by more than 3,000 high school and middle school students, including 12 ALMS students who entered competitions and attended professional workshops. The other eight attendees were Tristan Stephenson, Kenzie Spurlock, Grace Studer, Daisy Sanchez, Avery Treadwell, Ava Reed, Estefania Preciado, and Keeva Hoston.

In addition to the Anchor Team contest, the ALTV crew entered three other contests: Crazy 8s, Spot Feature, and Nat Sound. In Crazy 8s, the challenge was for all 12 students to create a news show within an eight-hour period based on the theme titled “Social Justice.”

In the Spot Feature, four students had five hours to shoot and produce a story based on a prompt.  The Nat Sound contest was similar, except that a story had to be told without using an on-camera reporter or voice track.

This was the second convention with participation from ALMS, currently the only Oregon school represented in the Student Television Network.  The convention provided students an opportunity to observe and learn from peers from across the country and to improve their video production skills through a variety of professional workshops.

Next year’s convention will be in March 2018 in Nashville, Tennesee.