<   Back to News

N.C. License Fee Changes Go Into Effect Aug. 1

Information from:

RALEIGH, NC- The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission announced today several changes to its hunting, inland fishing and trapping licenses, which will go into effect on Friday, August 1.

Changes include:

• Increased fees for certain short-term, annual and lifetime licenses. The duration of a short-term hunting license also will increase from six to 10 days, making it consistent with short-term fishing licenses.

Eligibility requirements for senior licenses, which raise the age to 70 for residents who were born after Aug. 1, 1953. The age requirement remains 65 for residents born on or before Aug. 1, 1953.
Elimination of county licenses, which include Resident County Hunting, Resident County Trapping, and Resident County Inland Fishing.
• Increased reciprocal license fees for Georgia, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia. Non-resident, short-term (10-day) hunting license fees will cost $60 for Georgia residents, $75 for South Carolina residents, $70 for Tennessee residents, and $110 for Virginia residents.

Also new this year is the Bear Management E-stamp, which is a mandatory $10 e-stamp for bear hunters. Along with the e-stamp, resident bear hunters must possess a valid hunting license with big game privileges. Non-resident bear hunters must possess a valid hunting license, a big game privilege license and a non-resident bear hunting license, in addition to the bear management e-stamp. Lifetime license holders who purchased their lifetime sportsman or hunting license before July 1, 2014 do not have to purchase the $10 bear e-stamp, but still have to obtain the bear e-stamp, at no cost to them, to hunt bear.

While the prices have increased for many hunting, fishing and trapping licenses, the majority increased by less than $10 and there is no increase for resident lifetime licenses. This year is the first time since 1987 that the Commission has raised license fees.

"The fee increase is part of a comprehensive plan passed by the legislature to move the Wildlife Commission toward fee-based self-sufficiency while reducing reliance on general fund tax appropriations," said Commission Budget Director Tommy Clark.

Commission Executive Director Gordon Myers thanked all of the Commission's partners, especially hunters and anglers, for their support of the Commission and its programs.

"Without the support of our sportsmen and women, Commission staff would not be able to accomplish our management goals," Myers said. "These increases in license fees will support wildlife, fisheries and land management directly, while also allowing us to continue our outreach to youth and disabled sportsmen, as well as introduce new participants to the wonderful outdoors."

To purchase a license:

    Call the Commission at 1-888-248-6834. Hours of operation are 8 a.m.-5 p.m., 7 days a week;
    Go to using a computer or mobile device;
    Visit a local Wildlife Service Agent.

For more information on hunting, fishing and trapping licenses in North Carolina and a complete list of all 2014-15 license fee and regulatory changes, download the Commission's 2014-2015 North Carolina Inland Fishing, Hunting and Trapping Regulations Digest.

About the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission
Since 1947, the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission has been dedicated to the conservation and sustainability of the state's fish and wildlife resources through research, scientific management, wise use, and public input. The Commission is the state regulatory agency responsible for the enforcement of fishing, hunting, trapping and boating laws and provides programs and opportunities for wildlife-related educational, recreational and sporting activities. To learn more, visit

Get N.C. Wildlife Update - news including season dates, bag limits, legislative updates and more - delivered free to your Inbox from the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission. Go

Media contact: Jodie B. Owen 919-707-0187 or